The Du Bois Center Pioneer Awards recognize individuals “who open the way for others to follow” (definition of pioneer, OED).

Previous recipients of Pioneer Awards
2006, Elaine S. Gunn and John Hope Franklin
2007, Richard N. Chrisman and Irving Burgie
2008, George M. Fredrickson and James M. McPherson
2009, Michael Farmer and John Y. Simon
2010, Bernard Drew and Ed Bullins
2011, Rachel Fletcher and Maurice Peress
2012,   Craig Harris and George S. McGovern
2013,   Arthur E. McFarlane II and W.E.B. Du Bois